Choose language

Forgot your password?

Need a Spoofbox account? Create one for FREE!

No subscription or hidden extras


If I'd stayed on in London and carried on going to literary parties, it would have wrecked me as a writer.

Colin Wilson

#going #i #literary #london #me

Quote by Colin Wilson

Read through all quotes from Colin Wilson

About Colin Wilson

Colin Wilson Quotes

Did you know about Colin Wilson?

Some viewed Wilson and his friends Bill Hopkins and Stuart Holroyd as a sub-group of the "Angries" more concerned with "religious values" than with liberal or socialist politics. Bibliography
The Outsider (1956)
Religion and the Rebel (1957)
"The Frenchman" (short story Evening Standard 22 August 1957)
The Age of Defeat (US title The Stature of Man) (1959)
Ritual in the Dark (Victor Gollancz 1960) (Reprinted Ronin Publishing Visions Series 1993)
Encyclopedia of Murder (with Patricia Pitman 1961)
Adrift in Soho (1961)
"Watching the Bird" (short story Evening News 12 September 1961)
"Uncle Tom and the Police Constable" (short story Evening News 23 October 1961)
"He Could not Fail" (short story Evening News 29 December 1961)
The Strength to Dream: Literature and the Imagination (1962)
"Uncle and the Lion" (short story Evening News 28 September 1962)
"Hidden Bruise" (short story Evening News 3 December 1962)
Origins of the Sexual Impulse (1963)
The World of Violence (US title The Violent World of Hugh Greene) (1963)
Man Without a Shadow (US title The Sex Diary of Gerard Sorme) (1963)
"The Wooden Cubes" (short story Evening News 27 June 1963)
Rasputin and the Fall of the Romanovs (1964)
Brandy of the Damned (1964; later expanded and reprinted as Chords and Discords/Colin Wilson On Music)
Necessary Doubt (1964)
Beyond the Outsider (1965)
Eagle and Earwig (1965)
Sex and the Intelligent Teenager (1966)
Introduction to the New Existentialism (1966)
The Glass Cage (1966)
The Mind Parasites (1967)
Voyage to a Beginning (1969)
A Casebook of Murder (1969)
Bernard Shaw: A Reassessment (1969)
The Philosopher's Stone (1969) ISBN 978-0-213-17790-4
The Return of the Lloigor (first publiColin Wilsond 1969 in the anthology Tales of the Cthulhu Mythos; revised separate edition Village Press London 1974). Pick 1970)
Strindberg (1970)
The God of the Labyrinth (US title The Hedonists) (1970)
The Killer (US title Lingard) (1970)
The Occult: A History (1971)
The Black Room (1971)
Order of Assassins: The Psychology of Murder (1972)
New Pathways in Psychology: Maslow and the Post-Freudian Revolution (1972)
Strange Powers (1973)
"Tree" by Tolkien (1973)
Hermann Hesse (1974)
Wilhelm Reich (1974)
Jorge Luis Borges (1974)
Hesse-Reich-Borges: Three Essays (1974)
Ken Russell: A Director in Search of a Hero (1974)
A Book of Booze (1974)
The Schoolgirl Murder Case (1974)
The Unexplained (1975)
Mysterious Powers (US title They Had Strange Powers) (1975)
The Craft of the Novel (1975)
Enigmas and Mysteries (1975)
The Geller Phenomenon (1975) ISBN 0-7172-8105-1
The Space Vampires (1976)
Colin Wilson's Men of Mystery (US title Dark Dimensions) (with various authors 1977)
Mysteries (1978)
Mysteries of the Mind (with Stuart Holroyd 1978)
The Haunted Man: The Strange Genius of David Lindsay (1979)
"Timeslip" (short story in Aries I edited by John Grant 1979)
Science Fiction as Existentialism (1980)
Starseekers (1980)
Frankenstein's Castle: the Right Brain-Door to Wisdom (1980)
The Book of Time edited by John Grant and Colin Wilson (1980)
The War Against Sleep: The Philosophy of Gurdjieff (1980)
The Directory of Possibilities edited by Colin Wilson and John Grant (1981)
Poltergeist!: A Study in Destructive Haunting (1981)
Anti-Sartre with an Essay on Camus (1981)
The Quest for Wilhelm Reich (1981)
The Goblin Universe (with Ted Holiday 1982)
Access to Inner Worlds: The Story of Brad Absetz (1983)
Encyclopedia of Modern Murder 1962-82 (1983)
"A Novelization of Events in the Life and Death of Grigori Efimovich Rasputin" in Tales of the Uncanny (Reader's Digest Association 1983; an abbreviated version of the later The Magician from Siberia)
The Psychic Detectives: The Story of Psychometry and Paranormal Crime Detection (1984)
A Criminal History of Mankind (1984) revised and updated (2005)
Lord of the Underworld: Jung and the Twentieth Century (1984)
The Janus Murder Case (1984)
The Bicameral Critic (1985)
The Essential Colin Wilson (1985)
Rudolf Steiner: The Man and His Vision (1985)
Afterlife: An Investigation of the Evidence of Life After Death (1985)
The Personality Surgeon (1985)
An Encyclopedia of Scandal.

Wilson has since written widely on true crime mysticism and other topics. He prefers calling his philosophy new existentialism or phenomenological existentialism.

back to top